Beautiful Things

You know when you read something and it feels like you wrote it??  Yeah…that happened today.  I was scrolling through Instagram and came across this quote from @farmhouseforfour:

“The process of building our home built with it something we hadn’t expected.  I had not anticipated how the sticks and stones of this place would transform us in the process.  I knew it would be hard, but we simply set out to build a structure, shelter for our family.  In reality, it was building us.  It was a seasoning for our family, a refining by fire, and brought with it lessons in patience, grace, and great peace & joy in the imperfections.  These are the things that make a house a home.”

Umm…yes!  Except I probably couldn’t have said it that well.  In truth, I did expect the refining and the transformation.  I knew that it would be hard.  I knew that it would change us.  I just didn’t completely understand the extent of it. It’s kind of like having a baby!  I was looking at old pictures the other day and came across one when I was about 8 months pregnant.  It felt so familiar.  I have had that same feeling this year!  So much anticipation, so much excitement, and also the sleepless nights…the pain…the struggle.  It has been worth it in the end.  But it’s not easy.  Especially the birthing part.  There was a moment when we were in the thick of moving boxes in, moving our old furniture and stuff in…dirty and dusty from storage (more on that later!).  My feet and my back hurt so bad.  I couldn’t imagine how Jonathan felt.  It was so much work.  I had that thought of “Why would anyone ever choose to do this? It is so hard!” But those are the times that change us.  This is what God meant when he told me to “build your home”.  This is what it means.  Not just the sticks and stones, but the hard work of transformation in our hearts and minds. He is always working! And what He builds is always beautiful!

This song has been on our playlist a lot this year.

Beautiful Things by Gungor

All this pain
I wonder if I’ll ever find my way
I wonder if my life could really change at all
All this earth
Could all that is lost ever be found
Could a garden come up from this ground at all

You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of the dust
You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of us

All around
Hope is springing up from this old ground
Out of chaos life is being found in You

You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of the dust
You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of us

You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of the dust
You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of us

You make me new, You are making me new
You make me new, You are making me new

You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of the dust
You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of us

Leave a Reply

