Cabinet Day!

This has been our favorite day so far!! Praise Jesus – our cabinets are going in!  I have been “can’t sleep, think about it all the time, giddy in a dorky way” excited about this day for some time now. 🙂 I think it’s because when you get cabinets, it actually feels like a house.  Until now, there hasn’t been anything defining the space like this.  Cabinets make our home feel so “homey”!

We have been so impressed with our cabinet makers.  My friend Paula (who is also an interior designer) connected me with Lee and Jerry Bontrager of Country Furniture Restoration in Nappanee, IN.  They worked with me from the beginning designing a completely custom kitchen, pantry, laundry and bathrooms.  They are meticulous and the quality of their work is outstanding.  They gave me a little preview back in August before painting and installation.  This was at their workshop…

And this was on installation day…

One of the things I debated about, but really wanted was inset doors.  When we looked at floor models, we were always bothered by how the doors didn’t line up or there were large gaps between the cabinet and the door.  With Lee and Jerry, I had no concerns about this.  They made sure that everything fit right and it turned out beautifully.  If we had gone with a boxed cabinet I wouldn’t have felt “safe” with this option.  I am so glad we were able to do it!  We originally made the stove top area and mantle above a standard 36″.  I made the decision to widen it to about 42″ so that it would look more substantial and I’m so glad I did.  I think the wider space made a big difference.  Our doors and drawers are soft-close.  It was an add-on and cost a little extra, but I love how they function.  When we eventually put our appliances in, everything fit like a glove.

My dreams of a white kitchen are coming true and I couldn’t be happier! 🙂

Most of our cabinetry and trim is painted in SW Snowbound.  It is a pearly white that works beautifully throughout the house.  We decided to have our island and great room cabinets painted in the same SW Iron Ore gray as our doors and great room beams.  This provides a good contrast in the kitchen.  The rest of our island is getting installed a little later.  Because of the size of our counter top (112″x 74″), we had to build another set of cabinets in the island to support the weight of the top.  (I guess this is a good example of things you learn along the way…when you have a hard surface countertop, typically they will only let about 12″ go unsupported.) We have legs on our island, but there was too much space between the original cabinet base and the legs.  Even though it is an added expense, more storage is always a good thing.

Here is the laundry room (with a clothes chute from Lainey’s room!) and the mudroom lockers:

 

1-28-16: Here’s a more recent picture of the kitchen (before the backsplash was installed).  You can see the contrast of the gray and white and also where the extra cabinet was added.  Originally we had the cabinet with the microwave, but nothing to the right of it.  We added the extra row of cabinets underneath flush with that cabinet, in front of the barstools.  They have cabinet doors so I can store seasonal dishes and serving pieces.  

2016-01-28 21.38.42

Leave a Reply

